the life and times of the godzwa family

pull up a comfy chair and enjoy getting to know our family better…..

Is God Enough? November 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Corey @ 4:57 pm
Tags:

This is off of Nancy L. DeMoss’s blog, Lies YOUNG women believe.  It’s a wonderful insight into the thoughts of young ladies (tweens and teens) and has helped me understand things that Abbie is dealing with.  There is a mom’s corner, a blog area, and so much more – I’d encourage you all to check it out…

This particular article caught my attention – Is God really enough?  I didn’t post all the girls comments, but after you read this you can go to the web page and read the rest if you’d like – I would just like to urge you to think about these young girls  (and guys) and all that they are facing in life – things we may never have had to, and possibly don’t understand, or we once faced it, but now have conveniently forgotten…. Try to see it from their shoes so you can UNDERSTAND them.  Is God enough? As a mature Christian you know He is, but to think about being 14 and understanding and believing that.  Add pressures and persuasions.  As Christian parents, we need to show our children that He is enough.  It starts at home, if they don’t see it in me, my kids may never be able to sing the song “He’s all I need”.

 

 

God is not enough

God promises to satisfy our needs (Philippians 4:19). Even so, 88% of the Christian girls we interviewed agreed with the statement “God is not enough.”

Three main things consistently rivaled God for being enough to satisfy. They were:

1. Friends
2. Material objects
3. Accomplishments

 

 

~~~~
Myrddin
Honestly …
on Friday, November 7, 2008 at 6:19 pm
________________________________________
Look at the Genesis story. God created man and all was good but it was not good for man to be alone!

God is not enough. Not even he thinks so, apparent.

~~~~

sarah
Re: kay
on Wednesday, November 12, 2008 at 8:17 pm
________________________________________
hey, I totally agree w/ you. I feel like I’m worthless or something if no guy likes me. I know that thats not true but its so hard when guys like all my friends and stuff but then it feels like no one likes me…do you know what I’m saying? We just really need to remember that God IS all we need. He loves us no matter what (even if no guy likes me. lol!). I hope this will help other girls who feel the same way!

~~~~

 Kay
hey!
on Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 6:01 pm
________________________________________
i think another big one that girls need ( me included !!! ) are a guys approval, from being asked to a dance , saying your pretty, going on a date , or going out ( having a boy friend ). So to every one who feels this hanging over you like a cloud , say that ” God is enough. He is perfect And holy.He’s better than any guy. ” Think about it God can’t let you down , or Cheat on you or never call or stand you up. You never think he was kidding because God is genuine.
hope this helps
kay

 

~~~~
Emily
God is enough
on Wednesday, November 12, 2008 at 9:46 am
________________________________________
You know, as hard as it is to believe, God IS enough. He has given us everything we need for life and godliness. And when God says something, He means it. I struggle with this a lot, but I would encourage others who struggle in this area to believe God and not their emotions. From personal experience, God is faithful, and He’ll pull through on His promises. See 2 Peter 1:3. God’s grace is sufficient to help us when we struggle in anything.(2 Cor. 12:9-10) Walk in Him, sisters of the truth!
Em

 

Leave a Reply

